Conversation- a word or none.

I’d long back heard a story that ended in a conclusion that when left alone in a cell, the punishment to a prisoner is the gravest for the absence of company (and conversation?) – ‘solitary confinement’. Ever since humankind developed the art of conversation, it has seen only progress, and advancement. It isn’t even any rocket science to understand what exactly ‘conversation’ is. Simply put, a conversation is an exchange of thoughts, whether in a language, or by the use of expressions simply. The main purpose is social interaction, and being able to put across a point, inviting opinion too.

Some say, conversation is an art. I say, everyone is an artist if that is taken to be true! In my limited experience of life, I understand that everyone around me has established their own form and format of conversing with their loved ones. I see an environmentalist conversing with the nature. I see mother of a new born conversing with her bundle of joy. I see two friends chatting away to glory every time they meet. I see that dog owner, play with his dog everyday and have his own fun conversing. And then I see some people conversing by being silent, hence proving that conversation doesn’t really have to have a script, or a standard format or involve wagging tongues. One can just pick one’s own mode of communication, align it with the others, and converse in the most beautiful forms.

I call that long chat I have with my friend, a conversation. And then I call the long periods of no talk, conversation too. I see beauty in being able to converse without words. There can’t be, and shouldn’t be a straight- jacket formula for how a conversation should be. One should simply just pick one’s format, mean, and mode of conversing. In fact, it would always be much more fun and comfortable if one chose one’s own different mode of conversing with every other entity. So while X would love to chatter away when talking to Y, X could also choose to converse through silence when with Z, and to converse only through smiles while with me 🙂

THE IDEA THUS BEING, THAT MY WORDS DON’T DEFINE MY INTENT, AND WHAT MATTERS THE MOST IS THAT I’M ABLE TO SOCIALLY INTERACT, PUTTING ACROSS MY STATE OF MIND, AND READING THE OTHER PERSON’S MIND AS IS PUT FORTH TO ME TOO, MUCH TOO COMFORTABLY, MUCH TOO EFFORTLESSLY.

A conversation that made me smile today!

(P.s. Just as I was going to publish this post today, I received a postcard from a dear friend saying, ” Hey! I care for you 🙂“. I had started this conversation yesterday, and it left me smiling today. Once again, this leaves me forever amused and thankful to the small joys of love, conversation and expression!!)

– Stuti

3 thoughts on “Conversation- a word or none.

your chance to express(edD)

